Aug 11, 2015

REVIEW of Laid Out by Sidney Halston -- Blog Tour

 with No comments 
In , ,  

Laid Out's blurb is what I would call typical. I've read a lot of books that tackle the same plot, with the same storyline, so I didn't have high expectations for this. I was taken aback though when I got to 1/4 of the book; things changed, and then I realized that this won't be as predictable as I initially thought it would be. 

Title: Laid Out (Worth the Fight # 4)
Author: Sidney Halston
Release Date: August 18, 2015
Published by: Loveswept 
Source: ARC Given by Publisher and Tour Organizer through NetGalley

SYNOPSIS:
Perfect for fans of Monica Murphy and Cecy Robson, Sidney Halston’s scorching new MMA romance proves there are no holds barred when it comes to seduction.

Growing up an Army brat, Violet Channing could never meet her dad’s high expectations. But in the eyes of her best friend, she could do no wrong. He even insisted that he should be her first kiss. Now Cain Sorensen is all grown up, hardened by years in special ops and always looking for a good fight. Tall, with striking blue eyes and impossibly blond hair, he’s a modern-day Viking warrior. Of course, Violet’s all grown up, too, and she’s ready to surrender to his every command.

Cain knows he’s bad for Violet. His work is dangerous, and his hobbies are downright deadly. As a private mercenary and a mixed martial arts fighter, he could never let such an innocent soul into his world. And yet his most grueling combat training is no match for Violet’s killer curves, hot touch, and suggestive glances. Now all of Cain’s most explosive fantasies are coming true—but once they cross the line between friends and lovers, there’s no turning back.




CHARACTER BACKGROUND:
Cain Sorensen is a man of few words and has never been good in expressing his emotions. Caring for someone never came easy to him, but he's been in love with the same woman for 12 years. Anger, pain, and guilt have been his best friends for years and they're starting to ruin his chance for happiness even before it starts.

Violet Channing is a loving, forgiving, and trusting person. She always choose to see the good in people no matter how bad they treat her. For years, she thought she knew real love. But because of a drastic turn of events, her world was knocked on its axis. Now she's learning what true love means... and how it's like to give up on it.
 
REVIEW:
This is what I thought Laid Out's story would be: a man who's secretly in love with a woman he can't have is sent to war, where he becomes mentally broken and emotionally crushed. On the other hand, we have a woman who has been hiding her feelings for the same man for years. She waits for him to return and she tries her damnest to heal him of all his scars. That was what I had in mind. 

This is what actually happened: Cain and his best friend are sent to war, and Violet develops a long distance relationship with said best friend. They got engaged while Cain was silently hurting on the side. But then things turned out for the worst and Violet and Cain drifted apart. They see each other many years later and Violet asks Cain's help to "get back in the game". 

You see how different the two versions are? That's why I liked this book a lot. Though I was right in a few key points, I still liked how the author managed to surprise me every now and then. From a technical aspect, Laid Out is written well. Though there were a couple of instances wherein I had a hard time following the speed of how a scene switches, I still think the story ran at a good pace. However, I must note that I had a hard time catching up with the numerous characters mentioned.


All-in-all a good read; it's sexy, exciting, and raw. I give it 3.5 stars.

 
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Sidney Halston lives her life by one simple rule: “Just do it.” And that’s exactly what she did. At the age of thirty, having never written anything other than a legal brief, she picked up a pen for the first time to pursue her dream of becoming an author. That first stroke sealed the deal, and she fell in love with writing. Halston lives in South Florida with her husband and children.
AUTHOR LINKS:
Website:  http://www.sidneyhalston.com 
Share:

0 comments:

Post a Comment