Jun 12, 2015

Blog Tour of After Midnight and Cries in the Night by Kathy Clark -- REVIEW

 with 2 comments 
In , ,  

Look at the cover. Just look at it. Can you resist a book (or books) with such sensual and artistic covers? I know I can't. I haven't even read the blurb of both books when I decided to do a review on them. I'm a sucker for good book covers, if you still can't tell. Anyhoooooo, I read After Midnight and Cries at Night back-to-back because I wanted to keep a certain momentum when I write my verdict. (Verdict? Really?) Before you go to the actual review, I should note that I liked this series...basing on the first couple instalments.

Title: After Midnight & Cries in the Night (Denver Heroes # 1 & 2)
Author: Kathy Clark
Genre: Romance, Suspense
Re-issued: June 9, 2015
Published by: Loveswept

SYNOPSIS:
Perfect for fans of Nora Roberts and Karen Robards, Kathy Clarks suspenseful, seductive Denver Heroes series kicks off as a dedicated cop and a beautiful actress get wrapped up in a world of danger and desire.

Aside from the reporter riding along in the passenger seat of his cruiser, its a typical Saturday night on the job for Sam Morgan of the Denver Police Department. Then shots ring out, and a routine stop involving a pimp and a hooker spirals into senseless violence. Now Sam is lying in a hospital bed, haunted by fleeting memories of the stunning blonde who saved his life and then just disappeared.

Kate McKinney was hired to play a prostitute on a reality-TV show, not stand around as actual bullets start flying. Unable to shake the feeling that trouble is stalking her, Kate turns to the only man she can trust: the wounded cop whose blue eyes send chills through her body. He doesn't believe she was just playing a role, but the predator hiding in the shadows is all too real and, as Sam and Kate edge closer to the truth, so is the heat that ignites between them.
 

CHARACTER BACKGROUND:
Kate McKinney is a strong, independent, driven, and graceful woman. All her life she's been living a life that she doesn't want. A career in showbiz is something she's always wanted, and she's willing to give up her sheltered life for a chance to fulfill that dream. But trouble found her and all she can do is depend on a man that made her believe in love at first sight.  

Sam Wilson always knows what he wants. He's been a cop for quite some time and has developed a certain routine in life. That didn't include being shot -- several times, -- meeting the woman of his dreams in the most inconvenient way possible, and fearing that he would lose her any minute.
 
REVIEW:
I like reading stories with leading men who aren't millionaires or billionaires. It gives the entire novel a more realistic feel, because...well, not every man who is great-looking and dedicated is filthy rich. After Midnight was well-written, though honestly I've always found books written in third person quite confusing. It's action-packed with a lot of oh-my-gosh-they-almost-died moments, and the romance between Sam and Kate were oh so sweet. Sam is just...dreamy. He's a gentleman, can be dominating when need be, totally charming and shamelessly uses it, and he's just a really great guy. He's the kind of man I would love to be with. He's not perfect and has his own faults, but that's what makes him realistic. Kate's fellow actors are so amazing. For a bunch of people in the acting industry, they're very nice and supportive. It's not something you see often. I just want to point out that the relationship of Kate and Sam struck me as a bit too fast. One minute he's asking her questions about a case, then the next he's kissing her and silently declaring a promising relationship? Yeah, that was tad weird.  

3.5 stars for After Midnight. It's romantic, mind-boggling, and exciting.
 
 
SYNOPSIS:the Night (Denver
Fans of Nora Roberts and Karen Robards will love this pulse-pounding novel of romantic suspense, as a red-hot firefighter reaches out to save a courageous beauty from the terrors of the night.
 
As a victims advocate for the Denver Police Department, Julie Lawrence is always on call for survivors of abuse, fighting for the justice she never got for herself. Its a high-risk job that makes a lot of enemies, one of whom seems to be now targeting Julie. But teaming up with firefighter and local hero Rusty Wilson sparks a different kind of danger. As Julie surrenders to intoxicating passion, she finds herself breaking her own rules, caring about Rusty in a way she thought shed sworn off forever.
 
When a domestic incident escalates into a deadly hostage crisis, Rusty is willing to risk everything to protect those who really need his help like Julie, the breath of fresh air who fills his days with purpose and his nights with pleasure. He just hopes he's not too late to stop a chillingly orchestrated act of payback that puts the woman he loves at the mercy of a mad mans rage.
CHARACTER BACKGROUND: 
Julie Lawrence is a strong and compassionate woman with lots of secrets. She doesn't like attention, but her passion for helping victims or survivors of horrific events proves that she cannot stay away from the spotlight for long. So in order to keep herself safe she must depend on a man that has the ability to crush her.
 
Rusty Wilson is a playboy and he's not ashamed of it. He never felt compelled to spend his entire life with one woman who he simply can't tolerate outside the bedroom. The only people he truly cares for is his brothers and parents. That is until he crossed paths with the unassuming Julie Lawrence. 
 
REVIEW:
Let me start off by saying that I liked Cries in the Night much more than the first instalment in the series. The subject matter is deep, raw, and true. Domestic violence is a very unfortunate yet common event that more people needs to be aware of; husbands beating their wives and kids within an inch their lives, women who let their husbands abuse them because they think they deserve it, and children who loses the foundation of their lives because of selfish and evil parents. The description of scenes were very real and painful, as well as the aftermath of the violence. The plot was truly interesting, especially the reason behind Julie's identity. I like the pace of their relationship because it had the right kind of speed and realism.

Cries in the Night is heartbreaking, eye-opening, and rage-inducing. Oh, it's very romantic by the way. *wink* I give it 5 stars.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Kathy Clark is a New York Times bestselling author whose novels have sold more than three million copies in eleven languages. Her plot lines have always championed womens empowerment, placing strong female characters in real-life situations. Her stories will make you laugh and cry, and her characters will live in your heart forever. She lives with her husband and co-author, Bob Wernly.

GIVEAWAY!!
Rafflecopter Giveaway (Loveswept & Flirt Mugs and Select Ebook Bundle)

a Rafflecopter giveaway
TOUR ORGANIZED BY:
 
 

Share:

2 comments:

  1. Amazing post dear!

    https://www.bloglovin.com/blogs/printed-sea-3880191

    ReplyDelete